Chatagnier from Ole Miss

23,065 Views | 229 Replies | Last: 2 yr ago by Captain Pablo
dermdoc
How long do you want to ignore this user?
AG
CoachO_08 said:

dermdoc said:

Also glad our coach does not send base runners with an eight run lead in the ninth. Or leaves his pitcher in with over 100 pitches with a ten run lead.

Do you coach like that?

Bianco and Chatagnier seem like a perfect fit.

Look. You're not quite as smart as you think you are...

First of all, I graduated from Texas A&M. I have no allegiance to Bianco or Ole Miss beyond the fact that I have coached Peyton and have known him and his family for years.

But since you brought it up and in a context of trying to paint that kid in a negative light, I'll bite

I'm OK with him leaving Nikhazy in for the 7th. You went to the pen VERY early yesterday and you have another game tomorrow. Bullpen arms have to be at a premium. The 100 pitch number is also arbitrary...every kid is different. Their stuff will tell you more about what they have left than the number of pitches thrown...Nikhazy was actually throwing harder in the 7th before leaving it up to Sarotiri. His count was also very high after 2, but he really settled in after that and pitched well. It's your job as a coach to make that decision based on your knowledge of that particular kid. Not a low rent or classless move there at all.

Now, still running and trying to keep your foot on the gas in the 8th/9th...you may get some folks unhappy about that. At some point though, it's big boy baseball in the SEC and if you don't like it you need to put a stop to it. I've got a good friend that was up 8-0 in game 3 of a playoff series and ended up losing 9-8. Baseball is a crazy game. If your Ole Miss, you've gotta consider a few things: a long fly ball is leaving the yard today. You don't want to go to Broadway( their closer) so you have him for Sunday. A&M kind of validated their concern by putting up runs late and closing the lead to 5.