Story Poster
Photo by Alex Parker, TexAgs
Texas A&M Baseball

Michael Barash & Nick Banks talk A&M advancing to the CWS & more

June 12, 2017

Key notes from Nick Banks and Michael Barash interview

Nick Banks
  • Right now it’s great in the minors. We are leading our division looking to clinch the first ever playoffs. The best part is getting to meet all these people from around the world and playing with guys you’ve been playing with since 11. I have two people on my team that I’ve been playing with since I was 11 years old. The worst part is the bus rides and I’m trying to get acclimated to that.

• It’s been awesome. I got to meet a lot of the younger guys this off-season and I knew they would fit in with that culture. Coach Childress does a great job with all of those guys, it starts with him. The players have to buy into it and they have great leaders like Nick Choruby, Austin Homan and Walker Pennington.

• I got to watch the first 10 innings of the first game and my heart was pounding. I got to watch the last inning of the clinching game to go to Omaha with Kyle Simonds. We didn’t change or anything after the game we just went right to the couch to watch. Watching the dog pile was one of the coolest things. I was getting chills watching it on TV. It’s real special for that program and Coach Childress really deserves that.

• Kyle and I played with half of the guys on the team. We joked around saying we built that, but we know those guys deserve that. They’ve done a lot and they were the underdogs this year. No one thought they would be in that situation and we had nothing to do with that.