Former Olsen Field PA Derrick DD Grubbs has a book

7,162 Views | 36 Replies | Last: 6 yr ago by BCSWguru
Mr.Ackar07
How long do you want to ignore this user?
I just saw this on Amazon: https://www.amazon.com/No-Gold-Watch-Outside-Lines/dp/1457544067/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1486319165&sr=8-1&keywords=derrick+grubbs

Capitol Ag
AG
Good find! Want to pick one up.
Duck Blind
AG
God he made Aggie baseball games fun.

While there may not be a plaque or section of Olsen named after DD, he doesn't need that to know he left a legacy behind. I was a student in the 80s. Saw all 3 tu games in '89. DD made going to the Shack on the Track unbelievably fun. From his game time temperature announcement of "It's XX BEAT THE HELL OUTTA XX DEGREES" (insert actual temp and opponent), to SMOKE EM IF YOU GOT EM BUT ONLY ON THE BOTTOM...to the Rifleman and so much more...Aggie baseball games became a part of my college experience. A passion in part due to DD. Today, at 49, I share the love for Olsen with my children...DD helped create that. I tell them the old stories. They sing along to the Rifleman... DDs legacy lives on in my children because of the love and excitement for Aggie Baseball he put in me as a student.

Gig em DD.
woodometer
AG
Just bought the book and finished reading the section about his Texas A&M athletic department years. Very revealing about life inside the athletic department in the eighties. Confirms alot of the rumors that you heard in those days.

DD if you happen to read this I do have to disagree with one thing you said. You say in the book that you have no legacy of your time at Texas A&M, except for maybe "The Rifleman" theme still being played at games.