Story Poster
Photo by Lia Musgrave, TexAgs
Texas A&M Basketball

Buzz Williams provides an update on his squad as they get back to practice

October 14, 2020

Key notes from Buzz Williams interview

• I'm trying to fight off old age as best I can, and that’s why I’ve gotten back in better shape. I see it coming my way, and I'm trying to fight it off as best I can.

• I could talk a long time about books. I'm always hesitant about recommending books because I have good relationships with some of the authors. I have been able to study and read over the last seven months.

• One of the things I've learned and paid attention to more is that I've realized I've been looking at the wrong things a lot of the time. Even as a coach, I've had more time to study some of the things I thought affected winning. Does free throw percentage really matter compared to other things that go into winning a game? You can see the tangible things that correlated to winning in the last season. I think some of the things I thought correlated to winning in life prior to March don't really correlate.

• I was an assistant coach for 13 years. I have been a head coach for 13 years. I have never had this much time off. My children know me much better now. My relationships with my kids and my wife have gotten much better. I haven't been a bad dad, but I haven't been a great dad. Some of this is maturation, experience, and what we're going through. I want to try and do a better job on the things that matter. I get too distracted by the things that don't really matter. I've just given away too much time, energy, and emotion to things, people, and situations that don't really matter.