How GCU Turned it's Student Section into the Best in CBB

2,998 Views | 17 Replies | Last: 4 yr ago by polander ag81
BaytownAg13
How long do you want to ignore this user?
AG
https://theathletic.com/1397407/2019/11/21/grand-canyon-u-basketball-student-section-party/

I know this article is behind a paywall, but it should be required reading for every AD in the country. I was a student during the Turgeon era where we trotted out a team each week that we felt were capable of beating anyone on a given night. I camped out for multiple games as a freshman because seats were so scarce and I witnessed some amazing sports moments with thousands of other Aggies.
Now as a season ticket holder I can't wait until our students start showing up en masse again to support this team. I realize it might not be this year, but I sincerely hope that Buzz and our AD can figure out ways to get students in their seats. A raucous basketball atmosphere is something we need to experience again in Aggieland. I feel like this snippet from Andy Staples fits our situation exactly:

"Basketball games are awesome at Duke and Kansas and Kentucky and Indiana, where fandom has been baked in for decades and tradition guides the experience. But at many Power 5 schools where they have the budget and the staff to make games more fun for the students and for the people to whom they'd like to sell more tickets the games can be dull as dirt. And then the AD and the coach wonder why they can't sell out the arena."
TopoTacos
AG
As someone who lived near to Blacksburg when Buzz was coaching there, they had even less of a basketball supporting fanbase than we do when he took over, and last season they were constantly packing the arena. If you win and play hard, fans will take notice.
aggiejohn
AG
Grand Canyon University - the transfer destination of former student Dan Alexander, a Turgeon signee.

https://news.gcu.edu/2013/12/high-flyer-dan-alexander-remains-grounded-in-matters-that-matter/
Isaih Smollett