Story Poster
Photo by Ed Zurga/Getty Images
Texas A&M Basketball

Billy Gillispie reflects on time at A&M, taking UK job, Billy Kennedy

March 26, 2015

Key quotes from Billy Gillispie interview

“I’m doing a bunch of nothing. Bunch of stuff to keep myself busy and doing some basketball stuff, watching a few games. I’ve got some other little interests I try to take care of as far as just fiddling around. I was doing a bunch of real estate, bought and sold some stuff. I go to auctions all the time. I find stuff to keep myself busy.”

“I do miss it, I am a coach. I had some unfortunate things to deal with, my sister passed this last year. Last year I couldn’t really do anything. She got cancer, I have four sisters and she fought it really hard for eight or nine months and then succumbed to that deadly disease. It has been tough because her and her husband lost a son two years ago and lost both mothers four years ago, so it has been a tough deal. My brother-in-law is the best guy in the world and he has one son left, so I try to spend as much time with those guys as I could, so that has kept me busy as well for the last year. I always find something to do. I love watching games and practices, I love being around people, I always find something to keep myself busy.

With all that said, it is time for me to get back out there and coach again because I do believe I bring something to the table and I do enjoy it and it brings a lot to the table for me, so when the right situation comes along, I’ll jump back in."