Food & Spirits
Sponsored by

I made boudin

3,824 Views | 27 Replies | Last: 1 yr ago by agcrock2005
agcrock2005
How long do you want to ignore this user?
AG
For starters, I'm no expert so if you have experience, please chime in with any advice. This was my first attempt, it turned out good, so I thought I would share in case anyone else wants to try. Really this all started when I was trying to find a good venison boudin recipe. Couldn't find one so figured I'd try to make real boudin and then figure out how to incorporate venison into it if I didn't screw this batch up.

11 lb bone-in pork butt seasoned with some cajun seasoning I ordered from Louisiana (it's really good!) and the cajun trinity with fresh parsley and green onions.

Not a good pic, but browned the pork butt (had to cut into pieces because I don't have a big ass cajun pot and paddle),

Took pork butt out, added trinity and shallots and cooked for about 8-10 minutes to get all the good stuff off the bottom of the pot, then added green onions (white parts too) and pureed chicken liver and cooked for another 5 mins or so, added pork butt back in and covered with water, more creole seasoning, and some chicken bouillon and simmered for about 5 hours.

Drained out of pot (but saved liquid for later) and added some more green onions and parsley chopped up before running through grinder.

Added grinded meat into mixer, added more fresh chopped green onion and then 8 cups of Louisiana popcorn rice (hadn't heard of it until making this) that I had cooked up. Unfortunately this picture doesn't show the rice in it, which nearly doubles the batch size. Also at this point I added more of the cajun seasoning to taste and introduced more of the liquid from earlier until I got the right consistency.

Made quite a few links and then left about 10 lbs to seal up and save for stuffing peppers and chicken.