Food & Spirits
Sponsored by

Pour Over Coffee Question

1,592 Views | 5 Replies | Last: 3 yr ago by Aggie_mae
500,000ags
How long do you want to ignore this user?
AG
I'm new to pour over, after using an aero press and french press regularly. The guides for the pour over are for a 1-to-15 ratio for coffee-to-water. The issue is I'm running through coffee much more quickly.

My process is:
1) bloom for 45 seconds
2) fill with water and slowly pour in the middle of grounds
3) let sit for 90 seconds
jah003
S
That's about right. I go 1:16 on my Chemex and Hario.
Sooner Born
I got into this a couple of years ago and make it almost every morning. Here's my method

• 1:18 coffee/water ratio - My morning standard is 30 g Coffee/540 g water - it makes about 16 fl oz of coffee
  • 40ish gram bloom - 30-45 secs
  • Pour 200g in a swirling/circular motion - let it mostly run through
  • Pour 200g similarly
  • Pour 100ish similarly
  • Drink

Edit: Just saw you have an aeropress or French press so my methods don't apply. Sorry!
12thAngryMan
AG
I think he was saying he used to use Aero/French press and now is exploring pour over.

OP, ask 100 "serious" coffee drinkers and get at least 50 different recipes. My current formula for a V60 pour over is below. It's nothing crazy or unusual; just follows many of the basic rules of thumb for pour overs after watching videos from Scott Rao, James Hoffman, etc.

• 1:16.5 ratio (I do 20g coffee to ~330g water); medium-fine grind (21-25 on Comandante grinder depending on type and roast of bean)
  • Bloom is variable depending on quantity and freshness of beans, but roughly double the volume of water to beans (so 40g water for 20g coffee)
  • Gently swirl after pouring bloom water to ensure grounds are evenly saturated and wait ~30 seconds (+/- 5 seconds based on how bubbles are forming)
  • Pour slowly in concentric circles to hit halfway mark (165g water) at 1:15 total brew time (i.e., 45 seconds from end of bloom)