Food & Spirits
Sponsored by

No-Knead Bread

3,069 Views | 20 Replies | Last: 3 yr ago by wadd96
Scotts Tot
How long do you want to ignore this user?
AG
Bread newbie here. After trying and failing to cultivate a sourdough starter as a fun new project, I cut my losses but still wanted to make some kind of good rustic bread with a crackling chewy crust. It doesn't take much googling before you see the no-knead process show up everywhere. Having never researched bread-making this was foreign to me, but apparently when the NYT published a recipe with this process 15-ish years ago (from a NYC bakery) it was somewhat groundbreaking.

So I gave it a go. This was literally 20 minutes of hands-on time, and would be less if I knew more what I was doing. A few minutes to mix up the dough the night before, a few minutes to shape the next afternoon before a final rise, then into the Dutch oven to bake. The results were phenomenal. I'm a little shocked that bread this good can come from such simple and easy process. Very complex flavor with a thick chewy crust. I'm sure this is nothing new for most of you, but feels like kind of an epiphany to this novice.
wadd96
AG
My version

No Knead rustic style bread

Step 1
In a large bowl:
3 cups regular flour
1 tsp regular salt or 3/4tsp coarse salt
tsp INSTANT yeast (not quick-rise, must be instant)
Mix dry ingredients well with a fork etc.
Add just over 1 cups water (temp doesn't matter, but not ice cold) and stir together into a big tacky blob. Cover in saran wrap tightly and let sit somewhere warm at least 12, up to 18hrs. I like to start mine around noon that way its ready to cook the following morning.

Step 2 (after the 12 to 18 hrs have passed)
Lightly flour countertop and your hands
Scoop wet dough from bowl onto floured countertop and quickly form a rough round shape.
Cover in saran wrap for 15-20 mins
Put a piece of parchment paper on countertop