Food & Spirits
Sponsored by

Offset wood smoker vs ceramic?

5,098 Views | 29 Replies | Last: 3 yr ago by aTm2004
Marcus Aurelius
How long do you want to ignore this user?
AG
Avid cook and BBQ person here. I have used a Cookshack electric over the years which produces great BBQ but I want to step it up a notch. What are yall's opinions on offset vs ceramic smokers? Seems the pros using offset. They are less expensive but appear to be harder to control temps.
TexAgs1992
I have a green egg and have mastered cooking pork butts and brisket on it. Temps are easily controllable so long as you know what you're doing. Be patient with it and it can stay at 250-275 for well over 7 or 8 hours. The versatility to cook and sear steaks at temps well above 550 make it worth all the more it costs.
Offsets are great if you have the time. If not, hard to beat ceramics.

Not sure you save much $ with one vs the other though. A well made offset with thick steel is going to be expensive.
80sGeorge
AG
If you are looking at offsets at Academy or HD then yes they are less expensive. If you want one like the pros it will be more expensive.

You will get 10 different opinions but the irrefutable fact is a stick burner cooks a better brisket.

It is also a fact that the stick burner will require more attention and fuel.

I have both, along with a Weber. Not an expert by any means but been cooking on each for over 15 years.

Flame away.
javajaws
AG
Gravity feed...best of both worlds. But $$
Vernada
AG
Quote:

irrefutable fact is a stick burner cooks a better brisket.
lol

one thing's there not much of in BBQing is 'irrefutable' facts.
BSD
AG