Food & Spirits
Sponsored by

Cooking techniques you've never heard of before?

4,146 Views | 38 Replies | Last: 5 yr ago by PooDoo
schmendeler
How long do you want to ignore this user?
AG
So I bought Jacques Pepin's "Techniques" a while back and just now started looking through it. It's pretty interesting, and definitely worth the price I paid at half price books.

I came across a cooking technique that I don't think I've ever seen or heard of before. I'm far from a pro, but I am an avid food and cooking enthusiast, so this was a rare occurrence to come across something I'd never seen demonstrated or explained.

It's called "Larding". It essentially consists of taking fat back and slicing/cutting it into long, thin strips resembling pork fat noodles about half an inch thick. Then you place these noodles into groove on your "Larding needle", which is then twisted/threaded through a roast, which apparently didn't have enough fat to begin with. Then you repeat until you have fat regularly distributed. So you end up with solid fat threaded through your piece of meat you plan to cook.

Has anyone else heard of this, or done it?

Out in Left Field
AG
Wrapping stuff in bacon was only the beginning.
bmc13
AG
do want
chipotle
That looks kinda gross. Am I going to try it? A thousand times yes.
dummble
AG
People in south Texas cooking sausage in the package on the grill. Seems I just noticed this last year.
Duncan Idaho
Get back to me when you start making aspics
Icecream_Ag
S
dummble said:

People in south Texas cooking sausage in the package on the grill. Seems I just noticed this last year.
like in the plastic wrap? Or just the casing?
schmendeler
AG
It's clearly the worse option.
Icecream_Ag
S
schmendeler said:

It's clearly the worse option.
ah so the paper around the plastic wrap
Duncan Idaho
dummble said:

I need photographic evidence of this.
dummble
AG

schmendeler
AG
mmm, polymers
investorAg83
AG
schmendeler said:

mmm, polymers
chipotle
schmendeler said: