Food & Spirits
Sponsored by

Asking for some Grilling tips/tricks

5,993 Views | 48 Replies | Last: 6 yr ago by FortWorthF3
Athendor
How long do you want to ignore this user?
AG
Hey all class of 16 here and I just got my first grill as a wedding present last week. Never was involved with the cooking as a child so I am a total beginner. It is a little four burner propane set up that I had to assemble myself. Just wanted y'all's best advice as far as receipes, tip, and tricks!
"A conservative is a man with two perfectly good legs who, however, has never learned how to walk forward."

Franklin Delano Roosevelt
aeroag14
AG
What types of things are you interested in grilling?
Athendor
AG
I'm open to anything really
"A conservative is a man with two perfectly good legs who, however, has never learned how to walk forward."

aeroag14
AG
One of my absolute favorite things to grill would be beef fajitas.

Contrary to what some on this board would say, I think flank steak makes for a very fine cut for beef fajitas.

So here is what I do.

1) Tenderize the meat. I own a tenderizer but if you don't, I would take a mallet and pound the thing as well as take a fork and poke about a million holes in the meat. This will do a few things. First of all it will tenderize the meat. Secondly, I think doing this helps with marinade permeating the meat and helps flavor the meat. Finally, it thins the meat out which is good because If left to its own devices, I think Flank steak gets a little thick for fajitas.