Food & Spirits
Sponsored by

Homemade sausage query

1,220 Views | 7 Replies | Last: 6 yr ago by HTownAg98
Chief 12
How long do you want to ignore this user?
Has anyone made homemade pork stuffed sausage without curing salt? I had an extra butt leftover, so I cut into strips, grinded and now the meat is in the freezer until firm. I noticed this morning I don't have any curing salt and will mix seasoning without it before stuffing.

My question is if I stuff and link, then leave in the fridge for 6 hours or until my butt is done smoking do I run the risk of contamination? Meat will not be left out for a long period of time, meat is almost frozen when stuffing, refrigerator is below 40 degrees, will cook above 165 internal, etc.

What are your thoughts?
Cowboy Curtis
AG
I'm no expert, but if you're not curing the meat and only smoking/grilling to consume same day I don't see the need for curing salt.
Belton Ag
AG
In your scenario I can't imagine there being any problems.

I make breakfast pan sausage from time to time in that manner and it keeps for a week or so before I need to freeze it.
HTownAg98
You only need curing salt if you are planning on smoking the meat to preserve it. For what you are going to do, you don't need it.
AgsMnn
AG
Just use salt and pepper.

Put on put with smoke.

Cook and eat. This is what is used in a lot of the small town sausages for the large festivals.

Keep it simple. Salt and pepper
TsuAg08

tsuag10
AG