Food & Spirits
Sponsored by

Question about smoking ribs/Weber Smokey Mountain

2,015 Views | 7 Replies | Last: 6 yr ago by aggiebq03+
Seersucker Ag 2011
How long do you want to ignore this user?
AG
I'm new to smoking meat, and recently invested in a 22.5" WSM. I have one cook under my belt, having made some wet style ribs that I think turned out pretty well.

A few basic questions:
1) I was told that I should buy spareribs and cut them down to St. Louis style ribs rather than just buying ribs that are already cut down to St. Louis style. Is that good advice or hogwash? Is there a reason to go through this extra work other than having the extra meat to make rib tips? A big price difference, perhaps?

2) I was told to avoid ribs that are or have been previously frozen. Is this even possible in Texas, far from hog country? Am I correct in thinking that any ribs that I buy at Costco or HEB were likely previously frozen?

3) Regarding the Weber Smokey Mountain, how often and how thoroughly should I clean it? After each cook, or will I be cleaning out the good "gunk" that builds up and helps to "season" the smoker?

Thanks so much for your advice. This is already a really fun (and delicious) hobby.
Tailgate88
AG
This thread is relative to my interests.
Walter Kovacs
AG
I dont know about the first two, but I typically clean three things. I throw out the ashes, wire brush the cooking grate, and clean off the water pan/clay saucer. I don't really use the water pan for anything other than holding the clay saucer and that's always covered in foil to make cleanup easier.
Shaggie 05
AG
1. I've done both trimmed and untrimmed and haven't noticed a difference in anything other than the time I don't have to spend trimming them. Can usually find both on really good sales around the summer holidays, so I pick through those and stock the freezer with the meaty ones.