Food & Spirits
Sponsored by

Grill: Weber Spirit E-310

2,015 Views | 10 Replies | Last: 6 yr ago by JimbosHatBarelyFits
SkiMo
How long do you want to ignore this user?
AG
I am new to grilling, but want a good quality grill that will last a long time and one that is easy to learn and improve on.

I've heard this is a really good grill and of course Weber is top quality.

I don't have a family...just me and the SO but I would like to cook for friends and also plan to use it each Sunday to make my meals for the week so a decent size would be ideal.

Thoughts/Opinions?

Weber Spirit E-310 Gas Grill
Joe Exotic
AG
Weber 22" kettle and a chimney starter will do everything you want. Plus you get the added benefit of your food having flavor.
Gramercy Riffs
AG
Yes, that's a good grill. Get the cast iron grates to go with it. We just sold our Spirit for $250 after 9 years of use.
normaleagle05
AG
My FIL has a different but similar Weber gas grill. We just finished an eleven month (far longer than planned) transition back to DFW staying with my in-laws and I saw that thing in action a lot. I reaaly didn't care for it. I'd much rather have my 10 year old, though soon to be retired, 18" kettle and chimney starter.

Flavor is definitely an issue on longer cooks. The charcoal/wood gives you more options in that regard. On shorter cooks the gas doesnt get hot that much faster than a good chimney starter (or MAP torch, which is on my short list).

I'm sticking with charcoal and/or wood, but I also have a long history (scouting/hunting camps) cooking outdoors on fires and grills. If you're just getting started with grilling gas maybe a smoother introduction but charcoal and wood is where you're headed. Otherwise you'd stay in the kitchen.
HTownAg98
Bayside Tiger Ag said:

Weber 22" kettle and a chimney starter will do everything you want. Plus you get the added benefit of your food having flavor.