Food & Spirits
Sponsored by

Jerk Chicken, because super bowl

7,620 Views | 53 Replies | Last: 7 yr ago by tamc1956ag
AggieChemist
How long do you want to ignore this user?
AG
This recipe is one I've been making for about 20 years and is famous on the outdoors board.

8 habaneros (seeded or not, your call)
2 sprigs thyme
2 T ginger
1 t whole allspice
4 T soy sauce
1 clove garlic
1 med onion (chopped)
2 green onions (chopped)

Combine all of the above in blender/food processor and blend on hi for 3 minutes or until liquified. Pour over 2-4 lbs chicken (I prefer wings) and marinate overnight in fridge.

Grill the chicken over hot lump charcoal.

If I'm cooking for mixed company, I usually seed all the habs and it has a nice warm finish. If I'm cooking for pepperheads, I'll leave the seeds in up to 4 or 6 of the habs for a good sinus clearing.

I cooked 50 lbs of these wings for an Eggfest in October and I was out by 11 am.
HTownAg98
I've made this before and can attest to its awesomeness.
Furlock Bones
AG
same here. made them multiple times.
beb06
AG
Sounds awesome! Will have to try this soon
chipotle
Well, the jerk chicken store called...
Mule_lx
AG
And they ran out of you
MookieBlaylock
AG
Do sauce at the of the end of the cook too?
beb06
AG
I'm planning to try this for super bowl. Think I'm going to sous vide some chicken breasts and some pork loin chops with the marinade in the bags, then remove after cooking, cut into chunks, put on skewers, re-coat with fresh marinade, and throw on grill to char.
Beckdiesel03
AG
Any thoughts on sides to go with this? Considering doing this for Sunday and don't know what I should do along side them.
AggieChemist
AG
No sauce at end of cook. There is ample flavor.
MookieBlaylock
AG
Grilled pineapple
plantains
Not from jamaica or ever been there but thought pot brownies was too obvious
Agz_2003
AG