Food & Spirits
Sponsored by

Quick and easy meals

2,641 Views | 20 Replies | Last: 7 yr ago by AggieStout
Tony Franklins Other Shoe
How long do you want to ignore this user?
AG
I think I'm a pretty good cook, but I'm also getting a little burned out. Need some week night ideas for something fast, easy, and pseudo healthy. It is mostly just myself and the Department of War, sometimes our son is around and he ain't picky. For the really quick....

We do BLTs, chalupas, baked potato with fixins, different soups that are easy enough to prep in advance, salads, a good grilled cheese sammich. What other options? I've looked at some stuff on the googletron but nothing really took me. D of W does not like eggs, so scratch that option.
FincAg
AG
  • Chicken Marsala
  • Hamburger steaks
  • Stir fry + protein
  • Individual meatloafs
  • Steak
  • Stuffed bell peppers
schmendeler
AG
bag salad
rice
grilled pork tenderloin
Quinn
AG
Homemade chipotle bowls - beans, rice, chicken/steak/cheese/salsa/guac/whatever
Bruce Almighty
AG
Google serious eats dinner in 20. Lots of great ideas there.
biobioprof
Rice cooker makes having rice pretty close to foolproof. That makes the stir fry plus protein option suggested above very easy. When I'm extra lazy, having the protein precooked makes the prep even easier...don't have to worry about raw meat during prep. So sometimes when I cook a steak sous vide, I make enough to have some to slice for stir fry later in the week. This also works well for pork cooked as the Cantonese BBQ called Char Siu. You can also use Chinese sausage.

I think the easiest dish in my repertoire might be linguini with white clam sauce using canned clams. Carbonara and puttanesca are also pretty quick.

Haven't tried this, but a few days ago Serious Eats just posted 3 ingredient 10 minute Mac and Cheese not from a box.
Bruce Almighty
AG
Cacio e Pepe is about as good as it gets for a really quick meal.
AG
Awesome. Thanks for some ideas.
nonag97