Food & Spirits
Sponsored by

Recommendations on buying a wok

8,449 Views | 30 Replies | Last: 6 yr ago by Icecream_Ag
Kitten With A Whip
How long do you want to ignore this user?
I adore stir fry type foods and they seem fairly quick and easy for busy week night meals. Would love to buy a wok, but I am clueless about what to buy. I would like it to not weigh a ton and a size I can handle. I'd like to avoid anything non-stick. I am also not a professional chef, but I do like to cook and learn as I go.

Any suggestions or tips on what to look for? Links to what you suggest would be great!

csagyo
Katt, I spent $110 on mine at bed bath and beyond. It's big, it heats up fast!! Love it. Don't skimp on price. Used mine last night (spicy schzewan chicken with shrooms, brocolli, bell peppers and garlic!!!!
csagyo
Had it almost 2 years and they still sell it.

http://www.bedbathandbeyond.com/product.asp?SKU=13690693
bonfirewillburn
AG
A) do you have a gas stove.? You will want to get a wok cradle, as well(they are like 10 bucks). If you have electric don't even bother. A residential gas stove doesn't have the BTU's to actually stir-fry, but that honestly doesn't stop me

B) I would suggest a mandarin wok for you, it has the long handle. As opposed toa a Cantonese that has the two loop handles.

C) are you still in CS, go check out kesco restaurant supply. Se if they have any. The should be less than 50 bucks. I couldn't imagine spending 110 fo a wok.......mine I got from , carbon steel, a medium size, think it was 35 bucks....will last my lifetime.

d) go buy "breathe of a wok". This book will teach you how to stir-fry properly. It is a different concept of cooking that most of us don't understand.

If you have an outdoor propane burner that has a pretty high output, that's going to be best for stir-frying. They have to be screaming hot to cook well.