Question about first aid/trauma kits

2,916 Views | 24 Replies | Last: 6 yr ago by Complaint Investigator
burrito post
How long do you want to ignore this user?
So I'm a high school teacher and obviously the recent events have caused me to reevaluate my own personal procedures regarding school shooting.

I want to stock my classroom with a first aid/trauma kit. I mean I have your average household kit right now for cuts, scrapes, etc. That isn't going to do me much good if I or one of my students is suffering from a gunshot wound.

Since this board is frequented by plenty of military and LEO any of y'all have any recommendations on kits I could buy? Something that could help me keep an injured person alive just a little longer in case EMS can't get in right away. Or if you have tips on what I could stock my classroom with that I might need in such a situation that would also be helpful
JABQ04
AG
burrito post said:

So I'm a high school teacher and obviously the recent events have caused me to reevaluate my own personal procedures regarding school shooting.

I want to stock my classroom with a first aid/trauma kit. I mean I have your average household kit right now for cuts, scrapes, etc. That isn't going to do me much good if I or one of my students is suffering from a gunshot wound.

Since this board is frequented by plenty of military and LEO any of y'all have any recommendations on kits I could buy? Something that could help me keep an injured person alive just a little longer in case EMS can't get in right away. Or if you have tips on what I could stock my classroom with that I might need in such a situation that would also be helpful

If you're stocking up in preparation for a school shooting or some other mass casualty event then what I recommend would be:
Tourniquets
Pressure Bandages
Gauze
Tape

That's all I would recommend. That's basically all I carried in my IFAK over seas. Your biggest concern will be stopping bleeding so I would focus on that.