On the fence about pursuing an Air Force contract..

2,756 Views | 17 Replies | Last: 6 yr ago by Federale01
Aggie118
How long do you want to ignore this user?
AG
Lately people have been encouraging me to take a good look at seeking a potential Air Force contract. While I've never really put much thought into it, I'm at a place where I can't really think of reasons not to so I thought I'd see what you all thought. I'm a sophomore in the Corps, Business major with no idea what I want to do career wise. I don't know a whole lot about serving in the military (all I've experienced is what I've seen and heard in the Corps). My biggest fear is that it would be 4 more years (I would only plan on doing 4 years) of the Corps, and that it would negatively affect my potential civilian career (because of the slow start) when I got out. So what I'm asking is, what was your experience like? Were you a "military type" all of your life? What are the benefits of this (besides obviously getting to serve my country!). Thanks for any info and Gigem!
TangoMike
There are very few correlations between active duty and the Corps

Your resume will actually have quantitative experiences (not just the nebulous "leadership", but systems management, budget management, subordinate/supervisor type HR functions)

Your pay over those four years will almost definitely be higher than your BS Mgmt peers unless you somehow magically could make partner at McKinsey in 4 years without an MBA
CharlieBrown17
AG
Talk to Maj Collins on the Air Force deck of the trigon about being able to apply skills from the military to the civilian world. He's been enlisted, active, reserve and worked with contractors during his time. He'll be able to give you lots of insight into what to expect to gain from spending time in.

Also it's a great time to get in if you want to fly but that's a 10-year commitment.
Animal
AG