Backyard Office "Shed" - Lumber Below Grade

6,846 Views | 52 Replies | Last: 1 yr ago by tgivaughn
tlepoC
How long do you want to ignore this user?
AG
Hoping to get some input from the construction experts here while I await a response from the project manager. Based on my recent experiences with contractors, I don't tend to trust what they say without my own research. Unfortunately, this is an area I'm having trouble getting answered definitively through oneline searches.

I'm having a backyard office put in - basically a glorified (and much more expensive) shed. My yard slopes pretty significantly downwards towards the structure so drainage/rot was already on my mind. They just wrapped up the pier and beam foundation and attached the ground contact lumber that will be supporting the cross beams. Taking a look tonight, it's going to be sitting below grade and the cross beams end grain will be partially below grade. I'm no expert but was thinking that even with ground contact lumber, this beam probably should still be above grade and not totally buried or it will rot within 10 years for sure.

Hard to tell from the pictures but the cross beams are about 6 inches below grade where they currently contact. Not sure if it is technically a sill plate but the top of the large beam directly on the piers is at grade where it sits and about 6 inches below grade from the front of the structure.

Thoughts?

AgLA06
AG
I wouldn't be ok with it.
aggiemike02
AG
Why do piers and not elevate?
tlepoC
AG
That's my primary question back to them. Who knows

I also have concerns with how they joined the skids together. Blah. I absolutely hate dealing contractors... Every project had been like this.
Marvin_Zindler
AG
Absolutely not. Given the free space available and site conditions, that lip should not be intersecting the ground.

Here are some interesting, very recent, references from a very good GC:

https://instagr.am/p/CdUjfUBDGxX

https://instagr.am/p/CdV7Gu2LnLz
tlepoC
AG