Windows

2,445 Views | 19 Replies | Last: 1 yr ago by Daddy-O5
Daddy-O5
How long do you want to ignore this user?
AG
I almost made a move on Windows early last year but held out, now regretting that decision.... potentially....

Before I go through the hassle of getting a bunch of new quotes, anyone know if windows are getting caught up in the big price hikes as well?
streetfighter2012
AG
I work in the commercial glass/window industry and we saw 3 separate price increases on glass and aluminum throughout 2021.
Whoop Delecto
AG
Daddy-O5
AG
Got a quote from the same company from about one year ago, up 23%.
streetfighter2012
AG
Sorry, but both the lead times and price increases mentioned above check-out with what's happening across the industry. Might be able to find someone who can get things faster or closer to what was priced a year ago but not likely.
Daddy-O5
AG
I'm not mad at you (or my local "window guy"), moreso some of the reasons why the price is being driven up, which I will leave for Forum 16.
Waltrip88
AG
Had a 14 week quote and got them in 12.
But I had to get single hung because they said they have trouble getting the vinyl for double hung.

I had bought windows from them eight years ago and the price went up a couple hundred per window.
ReelDeal
AG
most Window manufacturers are pushing 12-16 wks out right now. That may change with this next round of flurona. We have already had a price increase and are being told to expect another 10-12 % February 1st. If you get anything that is obscure, rounded/arched/ specialty glass, look for longer lead times. If you're looking for window replacements, we typically use Win core for double hung vinyl while Elevate is the best bang for the buck right now, but they are single hung. A standard rectangular opening in brick would run about $400-$500 if you went white 3050 window no grids. Elevate would be the cheaper end.
Daddy-O5
AG