Converting existing sprinkler system to drip - Anybody have experience in this?

933 Views | 5 Replies | Last: 2 yr ago by craig09
ME92
How long do you want to ignore this user?
AG
Hi All,

I'm converting a circuit of my existing sprinkler system to drip irrigation for some raised planting beds.

I've never worked with drip irrigation stuff before. Does anybody have experience with this and is willing to share some insights into this process?

Thanks!
mAgnoliAg
AG
ME92 said:

Hi All,

I'm converting a circuit of my existing sprinkler system to drip irrigation for some raised planting beds.

I've never worked with drip irrigation stuff before. Does anybody have experience with this and is willing to share some insights into this process?

Thanks!

Replace valve with pressure regulated and filtered valve, cap all heads and use existing lateral piping to plumb drip connection in. Run the lines using sod staples, unless you're referring to micro sprayers for the raised beds.

For an easier do it yourself job you can get retro conversion kits that you install in place of one or two of the existing heads on the station instead of replacing the valve. They come with fittings to tie in drip and everything but aren't as reliable as replacing the valve.
craig09
AG
What MagnoliAg said but also make sure you buy your drip tubing and fittings from an irrigation supply house and not a box store. The crap fittings I've seen people work with from box stores is just ridiculous and frustrating when you can get cheap, but proper and effective insert fittings at a supply house. The key is using 17mm tubing and fittings. A lot of box store supplies will say 1/2" and they will use external compression fittings, but it's all junk.

I'm not going to say you HAVE to buy them at your local SiteOne, but you should buy them at your local SiteOne.
ME92
AG
craig09 said: