Running an Exterior Electrical Line

3,509 Views | 16 Replies | Last: 2 yr ago by Daddy-O5
Daddy-O5
How long do you want to ignore this user?
AG
I want to run an electrical line from the rear of my house (small breaker box there with available breakers) to a patio area. It would be used only for outdoor lighting and to plug in my thermometer for smoking from time to time, so not a significant power draw.

I've done a moderate amount of electrical work during the remodel of my home, but by no means an expert. Explain the process to me like I'm a complete novice from the breaker box to the outlet.
evan_aggie
AG
What kind of outdoor lighting? You'd be amazed by what low voltage lights can accomplish.

If you are dead set on it, I'm pretty sure you'll have to run metal electrical conduit and that has to be grounded I think with stakes. I've done plenty of interior electrical....not much outside with the exception of adding an exterior wall receptacle.
Daddy-O5
AG
Pretty much where I'm at experience wise as well. Had intended on running conduit but not sure of some of the details you've mentioned.

I haven't really put a lot of thought into "type" of lighting other than just some small LEDs to be able to see at night. No landscaping lights or anything like that.
Dr. Doctor
AG
J.D. c/o 05 said:

Pretty much where I'm at experience wise as well. Had intended on running conduit but not sure of some of the details you've mentioned.

I haven't really put a lot of thought into "type" of lighting other than just some small LEDs to be able to see at night. No landscaping lights or anything like that.
You should bury the line at least 18" deep. You'll need to put red electrical 'tape' (think caution tape, but red) above the buried plastic line. This is to warn people if they are digging, there is power under there.

I would use PVC (grey) waterproof lines. Try to go a single pipe (no joints underground).