Septic / Plumbing Issue

1,438 Views | 10 Replies | Last: 3 yr ago by chaca5151
chaca5151
How long do you want to ignore this user?
The septic company came out and did an inspection on our system that we purchased from them; it turns out the compressor wasn't working, so they replaced it under warranty. I'm still new to the whole septic world and still learning; when they replaced the compressor, which I believe generates air bubbles, our whole house started to smell.

Like a waste treatment plant, and it didn't smell it at all down by the septic system or at least not to the amount it does inside our house.

My question is, what in the heck could be causing the vapors to come into the house?

Not everyone gets the same version of me. One person might tell you I have an amazing beautiful soul. Another might tell you I’m a cold-hearted a$$^ole. Believe them both. I don’t treat people badly. I treat them accordingly - unknown
Dr. Venkman
AG
I'm not sure how a compressor is involved in a septic system, but the only reason sewer gas is in your house is because a p-trap is dry. Maybe the compressor is siphoning it out?

Is there a fixture you don't use much? Run water down it to fill the p-trap.
op_06
AG
How long was your compressor not functioning? System may have reverted to anaerobic if it wasn't working for 1-2 weeks. When compressors go out, the aeration stage stops and bacteria growth slows down. This all but stops waste breakdown in an aerobic system.
chaca5151
Yea, we tried that already, We did a full system flush with all the water faucets running, and it didn't help.
Not everyone gets the same version of me. One person might tell you I have an amazing beautiful soul. Another might tell you I’m a cold-hearted a$$^ole. Believe them both. I don’t treat people badly. I treat them accordingly - unknown
chaca5151