Building a desk - Tools needed

1,903 Views | 20 Replies | Last: 3 yr ago by Builder93
Frok
How long do you want to ignore this user?
AG
Which tools would you think you would need for building a desk out of basic lumber?

I need a desk with very specific specs and I decided it would be fun to try to build one. (Simple table top, nothing fancy, I am a beginner)

I have:

- Miter Saw
- Circle Saw
- Drill

What I think I might need:

- Kreg pocket hole jig
- Nailgun & compressor
- Table Saw
- Jig saw

I don't want to buy all of these. I'm trying to determine which tools are worth buying for this particular project and would be useful for more projects down the road. Curious to hear from those who do this type of stuff.
JDCAG (NOT Colin)
AG
I built a farmhouse table and bench for the kitchen about 8 years ago with a jobsite table saw, kreg jig and a circular saw.

I've also built a standing desk (fixed, it doesn't go up and down) but just the tabletop for that is wood - the rest is black pipe. For that I used the same set of tools, but had a nicer saw at that point.

Either way, for a basic desk, all you probably need is a circular saw and the kreg (just cause pocket holes make it easy). Especially if you can find dimensions of lumber that match your needs - you'll really only need the table saw if you're wanting to rip long boards down.

A router is also nice to be able to throw something on the edges of the wood (champfer, rounded, etc.)
JDCAG (NOT Colin)
AG
I'll also add some kind of sander to the mix cause odds are you're going to have to sand things down to smooth out some of your joints.
AgEngr16
AG
Depends on what you are planning to build the desk from.

If you are going with plywood top/sides then a table saw or a circular saw guide if you want to save a few hundred dollars.