Pool Timer Question

1,620 Views | 14 Replies | Last: 3 yr ago by Aggiehunter34
justsomeguy
How long do you want to ignore this user?
AG
I'm new to the pool world and just bought a home with a (Chlorine)pool in West Houston 10 months ago and the pool is less than 10 years old and has been completely resurfaced prior to them listing so it's in fairly good shape, though I'm finding out that "fairly good shape" by the pool inspector still comes with several faults that would cost upwards of $3,000 to remedy apparently. The "command center" is a Hayward Ecommand 4 using a Swimclear cartridge filter(4 cartridges). The pump is a Hayward dual speed 2.4 HP pump

Problem 1:
I cannot pinpoint when this occurs but within atleast a 15 hour period, the timer seems to be behind the correct time by 10 minutes. Fast forward to a couple days and it's off considerably to where the pump is running in the middle of the night thinking it's 10 am. I've been told the entire main circuit board must be replaced to remedy. I would have thought replacing the timer or the timer circuit board would remedy, logically speaking. Any ideas here?

Problem 2:
Not that this is a necessary "problem" but the pool light doesn't work. Hot tub works flawlessly. The main pool light tries to come on and does for a second and then goes off. I'm guessing there's a frayed wire somewhere underground in the conduit or water got in the light itself. Apparently you have to replace that entire light with the long 50' of wire as one piece and cannot split in a new light. Seems irrational but okay. $450 for light and my guy wanted $500 to put in. Can't be that difficult right?....right?

Problem 3:
The expansion joint around the pool is completely deteriorated and needs to be replaced. Was told $1k for this as well. Again, couldn't be difficult I wouldn't think.

TIA everyone. I'll try posting pictures as well just in case.
flown-the-coop
AG
I cannot speak to Problem 1.