Lawn Puddling Question

1,931 Views | 8 Replies | Last: 4 yr ago by Pepper Brooks
waltonloads11
How long do you want to ignore this user?
AG
I have a new construction home, so there is a lot of clay-like soil under the grass. When it rains, there are certain parts of the lawn that puddles up. Is there an easy solution for this or do I need to regrade/level the lawn?
agnerd
AG
Aerating it will help. Filling the low spots with sand will too. Those are the easiest options. Try them first before regrading.
waltonloads11
AG
Thanks. I will try that.
Whoop Delecto
AG
waltonloads11
AG
I'm not an expert, but this is what I am going to do. If this doesn't work, I am going to either put more sod where the cavities are or put in some top soil.
ravingfans
AG
Water puddles because it has nowhere to go. Simplest solution is to add dirt and level with a slope toward somewhere productive. Sometimes, such as my yard you need to conduct the water quite a distance, so a French drain is needed. Dig down probably 18", add gravel, landscape fabric, then dirt then sod.

In our case we dug the French drain through rock--was quite the engineering feat
Sweet Kitten Feet
S
ravingfans said:

Water puddles because it has nowhere to go. Simplest solution is to add dirt and level with a slope toward somewhere productive. Sometimes, such as my yard you need to conduct the water quite a distance, so a French drain is needed. Dig down probably 18", add gravel, landscape fabric, then dirt then sod.

In our case we dug the French drain through rock--was quite the engineering feat

Will a French drain work on thick clay soil? My problem is my yard doesn't absorb water. It just sits on top and soaks in very slowly. It's takes 3 days to be able to walk on it after 1/4" of rain.
mAgnoliAg
AG