Cracked bricks, Where do I go from here?

4,185 Views | 27 Replies | Last: 4 yr ago by Builder93
RL
How long do you want to ignore this user?
AG
Long time lurker looking for advice...

I've noticed a large crack developing at the upper right corner on the front of our house. It starts out in a mortar joint but continues down through several bricks.

Inside, there is no indication of a problem other than a gap in the caulking of the upstairs window. The window, from the inside of the house, appears to be moving outwards. None of the 16" tile on the first floor is cracked. There are no cracks in the sheetrock joints on either the first or second floor. There are no visible cracks in the foundation and there are no cracks in the brickwork around the corner from this.

Do you think this is a foundation problem or a brick tie problem or something else? I really don't think it's foundation because of the lack of other issues, but I'm no expert. House was built in 2001 and is located in Pearland, TX.

https://photos.app.goo.gl/Km7cAx6mH4GGtJm56
https://photos.app.goo.gl/NUbmW5xeKyUc2hft5
https://photos.app.goo.gl/mEQEi4bnQQz9tb4F6
https://photos.app.goo.gl/93LuhhRARtVVkXz46
yaterag
AG
My first thought is foundation issue in that front right corner. It could be as simple as the bricks not being laid properly. You might want to get someone to come out and look at it either way before it gets any worse.
ABATTBQ11
AG
Anything on the outside wall perpendicular to this?
RL
AG
ABATTBQ11 said:

Anything on the outside wall perpendicular to this?
Meaning any damage? No, nothing on the wall around the corner to the right (from the pic) or to the left. In fact, no cracks or anything similar anywhere else on the house.

If you mean are there any structures, no to that as well.
flown-the-coop
AG
I would call an engineer (not a foundation company) to come out and take a look. Agree its odd with no sheetrock or tile cracking. I am at a loss.
Gary79Ag
AG
flown-the-coop said: