Room Addition Bids

1,714 Views | 11 Replies | Last: 4 yr ago by AgLA06
BobSacamano
How long do you want to ignore this user?
We're adding a living room in Houston and I'm fairly new to this. I've brought in five contractors thus far and there's a substantial difference in bids from roughly $50k up to $125k for a 300 sq ft addition (give or take).

The guys on the top end definitely seem top notch (sharp, trustworthy, etc) but what's actually driving these differences? Is the quality that much better? Reputation? Should I run away from the $50k guy?
Vernada
AG
Are the quotes apples-to-apples?
Picard
AG
Have you considered adding a second floor instead?

BobSacamano
Vernada said:

Yes, no substantive differences.

As a long term TexAgs lurker I know better than to consider a second floor.
Guitarsoup
AG
Hope you didn't get a bid from the one in Kingwood that did my addition.

TMoney2007
AG
For $417/sf I'd expect high end finishes and absolutely no additional charges for unforseen situations.

Did the expensive guys talk about anything that would make your addition particularly challenging?
BobSacamano
TMoney2007 said:

For $417/sf I'd expect high end finishes and absolutely no additional charges for unforseen situations.

Did the expensive guys talk about anything that would make your addition particularly challenging?

Nope. Just basic stuff that they all talked about.
WaynerAg03
BobSacamano said:

Vernada said:

Yes, no substantive differences.

As a long term TexAgs lurker I know better than to consider a second floor.

Out of curiosity, what are the concerns/ issues with adding a second floor?
DeBoss
AG
I added 180 sq. ft. bathroom/closet and paid about $140/sq ft. So depending on the current value of your home, I got mine for about a 10% increase over current value. Not sure if that helps.
expresswrittenconsent
What did you find out from calling the references they provided?
BobSacamano