So the wife wants a whole-home water softener - recos

9,037 Views | 50 Replies | Last: 1 yr ago by SpreadsheetAg
SpreadsheetAg
How long do you want to ignore this user?
AG
I want to do it myself - I am a pretty good plumber and it doesn't scare me at all.

Have you installed your own water softener for the entire house?

Did you run into any complications? What brand softener and type (sodium vs magnesium) did you use?

I expect this is a 3 hour job out of the box assuming I've planned well and have all the right piping for the modification - do you agree?

Note: My current home is GSP but I plan to convert most of it to PEX in the next 5 years (myself).

I'd like to keep it under $600 if possible.

Looking forward to reading your recommendations and advice.
Fairview
AG
I bought one of the traditional style from Lowes. We are building a house in the next year or so, so I didn't want a lot invested in it. I didn't put it in because we happened to have a plumber at the house doing something else and he did it on the side. It's an easy install though assuming you have good access to the water line coming in from the house. We have a basement so it made it super easy.

It works surprisingly well. I put a reminder in my phone to check the salt level on the 1st of every month. I can fill it up and almost make it 2 months without filling it up again. I put it through its cleaning cycle every four months.

When I buy the salt I have to haul it from the garage, through the house and down into the basement which while good exercise is a pain in the ass. I buy around 10-12 40lb bags at once so its only a couple times a year thing.

There are probably nicer options out there but like I said we went basic on this one and have been happy with the results. If I was going to be in the house longer I probably would've researched other options but thats not saying I wouldn't have ended up with the same one.
ForeverAg
AG