Please help me with my dark closets

2,763 Views | 19 Replies | Last: 5 yr ago by tsuag10
tsuag10
How long do you want to ignore this user?
AG
Purchased a new home this past summer. It is a new build but was already completed when we bought it.

The 2 guest bedrooms have pretty standard sized closets, but they don't have any type of lighting inside them at all. It is pretty much impossible to see everything in the closet, especially when it's full. See pics below:

Just to test the idea, I ran 16ft LED rope light that I have around the trim on the inside of the closet doors and it puts off about the perfect amount of light in all the right areas. However, I currently don't have power in the closet, so I would have to run a cord from out in the room and that just looks tacky.

I don't have a problem with the idea of dropping power into the closet, but I want to do it in the most logical/practical way that doesn't look half-azz. I'm not a pro with home improvement, but I am confident with handling basic projects. We aren't planning on staying in this house any more than 5-10 years, so I want to make sure it looks nice and "purposeful".

Are the LED rope lights around the doorway the best option? I'm open to other suggestions.

What is the easiest way to get power in the closet and it still look clean/neat?

TIA
DannyDuberstein
AG
ignore
Marvin_Zindler
AG
What attic access do you have above the closets? What outlets are close by that you could tap off of?

Here is a good rough overview of what the process will entail:
tsuag10
AG
DannyDuberstein said:

For simplicity sake, do you have any plugs in your attic that you could run an extension cord to?
Yes, I do. That would probably be the easiest thing to do.

I'm just trying to decide how confident I am in my abilities. I'd really like to do something that looks professional so the future prospective buyer doesn't easily notice that it was an after-thought.
tsuag10
AG