Kids Bunkbed

2,293 Views | 8 Replies | Last: 5 yr ago by civilized05
jimbo9821
How long do you want to ignore this user?
AG
have any of you all built your kids a bunkbed? Looking to do a double on the bottom, single on the top. If you've built one... let's see some brag posts and any tips, tricks, or designs.

Thanks.
Josepi
AG
My only advice is to make sure that you put rails on both side of the top bunk. Don't use the wall as a substitute for a railing. Lots of kids have died by slipping between the wall and the top bunk in their sleep.
will.mcg
AG
As in they fell between the wall & the bunk to the floor?
Josepi
AG
In most cases they fell between the wall and the bed, and got stuck. I'm no expert on this, but I believe that their bodies fall down, but their head gets stuck between the wall and the bed, and they suffocate. I've read up on a little bit, and it's usually small kids in the 1-3 year old range.

I think it can happen too if there is too large of a gap between the railing and the mattress. The kids body can slip under the railing, but their head gets caught between the railing and the mattress and it strangles them. I don't think that is a common, but I have read of it happening.

The only reason I'm aware of any of this is that a case happened a few years ago somewhat close to where we live. It was a horrible situation.

civilized05
AG
I've made a few sets for both the lake house and the kids' room.

Lake house set

I used 2x4s (headboard/footboard), 2x6s (bed rails) and 4x4s (legs). The slats are 1x3 furring strips connected via duct strapping and staples and the top rails are 2x2s.

The head and footboard are pocket screwed and glued as a large panel the full height.

For the lower bed rails, Rockler sells these brackets (https://www.rockler.com/surface-mount-bed-rail-brackets) that work great.