New Construction - Tankless Waterheater

1,742 Views | 11 Replies | Last: 6 yr ago by Enviroag02
Splitag
How long do you want to ignore this user?
AG
Just moved into a new construction home. The water heater is a Rinnai tankless, which I have no experience with. It has a digital temp gage in the closet, and it looks like it tops out at 120 degrees. The issue we are having is it doesn't seem like the water ever gets very hot. The kitchen sink is on the opposite end of the house from the unit, and it would expectantly take a little longer for the hot water to reach it. That said, it never gets hot enough to need to pull your hand out from under it. Anyone know if this is normal, or is there any fix for this?
BrazosDog02
AG
If it's far enough away, then your pretty much sending hot water through a copper heatsink. It's just science. At your kitchen, I would think that a 110v instant water heater would be a better choice for the sink AND the dishwasher.

How far away is it? My tankless heaters are all within about 35' from their point of use. If I had to send hot water from the one at the master to the kitchen 100' feet away, I would imagine it would not only take all day to get there, it would have lost quite a bit of temperature when it did.

To test this theory out, I would measure the temperature of the outlet closest to the water heater. Let it run for a few mins before testing. Get that number. Then test your kitchen faucet. KEep in mind that there is a slug of mixed luke warm water in the pipe. Measure temp at the sink. It should rapidly increase at first and as it runs, it should eventually get up to a similar temp as the other....maybe not...but somewhat close. If so...well...that's just the way heat and dissipation works.
JP76
How far is the heater from the kitchen faucet ?
Enviroag02
AG
Rinnai's have a jumper switch in the control board that will allow you to bump up the temperature past the 120 degree max. It will only go up to 140 degrees though I think.