Converting Gas fireplace to wood

1,459 Views | 14 Replies | Last: 6 yr ago by Bonfire1996
SJEAg
How long do you want to ignore this user?
AG
We currently have a gas fireplace with the ceramic logs. Tried to use it for the first time in like 5 years today and the starter doesn't seem to work (can hear gas, but can't seem to get it to ignite). Anyway, got me thinking that I never really liked it in the first place. Always had a very audible hiss and the fire never looked particularly natural (can see a gas flame line underneath the logs). Since we don't use it much, figured when we did it would be nice to have a real fire.

Is it possible or advisable to do this? Would hire a pro. Fireplace is original to the house built in 1992 and is vented with a normal chimney. The firebox looks all concrete and the hearth is brick. Has a damper. I am no expert obviously, but it looks like what a wood burning fireplace would look like except for the gas parts. Could a fireplace company convert it or would it involve some major reconstruction?

Or if it's not feasible, what can be done about the audible hiss/poor flame issue? Never really see this problem at other homes (always seem completely silent), is it hard/expensive for a pro to swap the parts out with better ones?
GBMont3
AG
Did this last year along with some other chimney repairs. Have had no issues. Left gas line in place and use a starter now. Can't tell you cost as ours had other repairs rolled in but I bet it'd be <$500.
OnlyForNow
AG
Do you it yourself or hire out?

If so who's you use and what area are you in?
Bonfire1996
AG
Where are you located?
Bonfire1996
AG
Call perfection wholesale. You should be able to do this very easily. What you have is a wood burner that was converted to gas logs. It can easily go back.

I work at a fireplace company in dallas
OnlyForNow
AG
I wish you lived/worked in Houston.
Bonfire1996
AG
OnlyForNow said:

I wish you lived/worked in Houston.