Backfilling after foundation work - does this look correct?

10,199 Views | 19 Replies | Last: 6 yr ago by Gary79Ag
Wiggletrace
How long do you want to ignore this user?
AG
We, unfortunately, flooded during Harvey, but we are taking the opportunity to expand our master bathroom. In doing so, we needed to move some drains.

When our contractor started cutting/jackhammering the slab, we discovered that there were huge cavities under the bathrooms.

We had all of the underslab plumbing replaced and foundation work done in August of 2015. I have contacted that contractor to ask questions and was told that they usually leave a gap to prevent "heaving." I am a geologist and have an extensive knowledge of clay mineralogy and skrink/swell capabilities, and I think this is not an acceptable backfill. If this isn't good workmanship, I plan on starting a case for a warranty claim.

Can any of you comment on this or offer some insight? Does this look right?

Master bathroom. The cavity where the toilet drain is about 30" or so below the slab.

Master bath at toilet drain:

Guest bath:

Thanks in advance.
Martin Q. Blank

Quote:

I am a geologist and have an extensive knowledge of clay mineralogy and skrink/swell capabilities
And you come here for advice?
Wiggletrace
AG
Martin Q. Blank said:

Quote:

I am a geologist and have an extensive knowledge of clay mineralogy and skrink/swell capabilities
And you come here for advice?
I am not an engineer... i readily admit that. It's the integrity of the slab that I am more concerned with.

I don't care if you have water sitting on that soil for a week: it's not going to swell enough to make up that space.
Vivificus
AG
DO you have pictures of this part of the home during the previous slab repair? Were there any interior holes dug during the repair.