Why am I paying two separate insurances on my home?

2,966 Views | 20 Replies | Last: 6 yr ago by Raptor
Raptor
How long do you want to ignore this user?
AG
I have home owner's insurance with auto.

I also pay $200ish a month as part of my mortgage (Hazard Ins).

Why?

Do I have to pay both?

****UPDATE****

I'm an idiot. That's not the update. I tried to look up exactly what I was paying for my "2nd" home owners insurance through Farmers and I got this...

"Mortgagee Account Statement - Account is mortgagee pay. Statement is not available."

So it appears that my bank's been covering my home owner's insurance through my mortgage.

I am a noob at home-owning.

Now I wonder why my car insurance is so damn high?

$214 a month for two cars. Ugh!!!!
This post is for Cretaceous Level Subscribers only.

UnderoosAg
AG
Is the insurance with your mortgage actual property insurance or PMI?

https://www.zillow.com/mortgage-learning/private-mortgage-insurance/
Raptor
AG
Actual insurance...

Quote:

G. Initial Escrow Payment at Closing $6,453.45
01 - Homeowner's Insurance $208.84 per month for 5 mo. $1,044.20
02 - Mortgage Insurance per month for mo.
03 - Property Taxes $228.10 per month for 13 mo. $2,965.30
04 - School Property Tax $252.26 per month for 13 mo. $3,279.38

We had been paying hazard and PMI on our first FHA loan, but this is a refinance and it's a conventional loan.

Thomas Ford 91
AG
I see something like this a lot in my bankruptcy practice. The homeowner misses or ignores the mailed notice that the mortgage company doesn't have proof of an active homeowners policy. If no proof is produced, then the mortgage company buys a hazard policy to protect their interest. Later, the owner notices the double insurance.

Usually, proof of continuous coverage will result in a refund of the premiums paid towards the mortgage companies policy.
DadAG10
Raptor said:

Actual insurance...

Quote: