Toilet Install in an old Bathroom (pics included)

3,855 Views | 10 Replies | Last: 6 yr ago by Fleen
irish pete ag06
How long do you want to ignore this user?
AG
How would you go about installing new toilet here?

I'm a newb at installing a toilet. It's wax ring, toilet flange, toilet, right?
Kenneth_2003
AG
Flange goes on the bottom. What happened to the old flange?
Kenneth_2003
AG
I'm guessing that is cast iron plumbing. Here is a YouTube video showing a situation similar to yours...

The flange used in the video is made by Oatey, though there are a variety of flanges available at big box stores designed to attach to cast iron plumbing.

I've never actually used one of these, but I'm interested in them since it has a sleeve that slips down into the drain.
Dr. Venkman
AG
That stub out looks like lead which ties into the cast iron below it. Lead is very soft and (if it is lead) you don't want to use the Oatey flange above which is for cast iron only.

I used this: http://www.homedepot.com/p/Sioux-Chief-7-in-Brass-Toilet-Flange-Ring-890-4BPK/202313221

You would typically pour lead to seal the flange to the lead pipe. I'm not comfortable doing that and found this product:
https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00083UTDC

Use a caulk gun and install between the flange and lead pipe. Use a ball peen hammer and lightly hammer the lead pipe to the flange until it is formed.

Start at 16 min. in this video. (note he used the wrong end of the hammer but you get the idea)
The Fife
Would it be easier to cut off a bit of the cast iron pipe and replace with PVC, then connect it to the rest of the iron with a fernco?
87IE
AG
I ran into this in my first house..

There are a bunch of ways to skin a cat but I ended up getting a PVC flange like this one and glued a smaller PCV pipe to it to extend down into the pipe. I used a plumbing goop liberally around the bottom of the flange to create a seal with the drain pipe and then anchored the flange to the foundation.