Shower leak help...

2,035 Views | 19 Replies | Last: 6 yr ago by YellAg2004
bam02
How long do you want to ignore this user?
AG

I'm seeking advice on the leak in the picture above. The cold water side apparently was crimped/welded instead of capping or just using a proper elbow fitting. Now it's leaking profusely. I have zero experience messing with copper plumbing but I'm always willing to try most stuff around the house.

Should I attempt to to remove this fitting and put in an elbow? Should I just see if I can pull the small crimped length of pipe and replace it and cap it properly?

My biggest concern is starting it and not being able to turn my water back on if I completely fail.
The Fife
Ouch... there's a lot going wrong here.

If I were just trying to replace the defective fitting (that T looks like 3/4" x 3/4" x 1/2", another sign of someone being cheap and taking a shortcut), I would cut the pipe running horizontally at the T and also an inch or two below it. A replacement section could be put in using a new elbow and repair coupling.

The other big thing I see that was done wrong is that there is no waterproofing behind that tile. That'll cause big problems down the road, which may or may not matter depending on how long it's been like that and how long you plan on staying there. Since there's already a hole in the wall I'd have a peek and see what everything looks down below. If the crimped piece was leaking for a long time there may already be rot at the bottom anyway.
bam02
AG
Ugggh. This all started because the base boards on the back side of the shower started showing water damage. I'm embarrassed to say it started a couple of months ago very slowly and I just now got this far.

Guess I kept my head in the sand in it hoping it was very minimal leaking and damage, but I see now it's a constant flow from that crimped pipe.