thinking about building a basement

3,901 Views | 17 Replies | Last: 7 yr ago by 62strat
cowtown ag02
How long do you want to ignore this user?
AG

I am in the planning stages of building a house. The lot I have has a fairly steep slope down to a river which provides for a nice view. I was contemplating adding a walk-out basement to the house plan but I am new to the concept of a basement in Texas.

This is a probably a dumb question but I will ask anyways. If the basement will be about 25% to 33% of the size of the main floor of the house and will only be under for example the west side of the house, does the whole main floor have to be sitting on top of the basement foundation. Stated another way, do I have to excavate the entire size of the main floor of the house to build the basement or do I just excavate the portion where the basement will be located and then the rest of the main floor of the house can be on slab or pier and beam.

I would also appreciate any advice others have experience they have with a basement like construction tips, cost to build as comparison with normal building costs, etc. Thanks in advance.
Corps_Ag12
AG
Location?

Most builders don't like them, but this guy specializes in it.

North Texas Basements

Depending on the foundation conditions, it could get real expensive real quick if you hit rock while excavating.
TexAg1987
Your basement will only be the size you want it to be. You may have to put the rest of the house on piers, however. An engineer will need to design the foundation, especially on a hill.
cowtown ag02
AG
The property is southwest of Fort Worth. The soil is sand.. There are no rocks and no issues with excavating.

Why would I need a pier foundation? Not that I am against it just trying to understand the logic.
TexAg1987
cowtown ag02 said:

The property is southwest of Fort Worth. The soil is sand.. There are no rocks and no issues with excavating.