AC Unit

2,021 Views | 13 Replies | Last: 7 yr ago by agz win
CAR96
How long do you want to ignore this user?
AG
My AC unit is working, but I am not sure it is working properly. It does cool.

It seems to almost not come on over night? Maybe I have a setting wrong, but I haven't changed any setting's recently, so not sure why.

I cleaned out the coils recently as Sunday...it worked all day just fine.

Maybe I need a new thermostat. The one I use now is hard to program it is an old Hunter, I think, probably around 15 years old.

Any ideas for a easy to use more up to date thermostat and less than $150?
Aggie_Eric98
AG
You can get a builder grade Honeywell for under $50,
AtlAg05
AG
I'm no expert but have had lots of issues with my AC over the years.

You said it is cooling but doesn't come on at night, this could just be that it is staying at the desired temperature so it doesn't need to come on.

If it is struggling to cool and you have an infrared temp gauge, you can check the air temp coming out of the vents. If it isn't cool enough to reach your set temp it might be low on refrigerant.

Big box stores will have a bunch of options in your price range for replacement thermostats.

Edit, not sure how that emote was chosen but I'm not crying over this
CapCity12thMan
AG
If it isn't getting warm at night in the house then there is no need to kick on...

CAR96
AG
It's not getting warm at night, because it is relatively cool at night....northside of Houston. It feels stuffy in the morning though.

When I was home mid morning for a quick lunch...it felt as though it had not been on at all during the morning and the day was heating up outside.

Just before I left it kicked on. I guess a telling sign will be if the house feels cool when I get home later after the heat of the day has built up.

DriftwoodAg
AG
Aggie_Eric98 said:

You can get a builder grade Honeywell for under $50,