Best golf within 1 hour of College Station

4,657 Views | 49 Replies | Last: 1 yr ago by t - cam
AggieP18
How long do you want to ignore this user?
What is the best public golf course within 1 hour-ish of College Station? I've got family in town in July and the campus course has a tourney that Saturday.

Looked at High Meadow Ranch as an option. Conroe have any gems?
oldag00
AG
Ravens Nest in Huntsville is historically pretty good, but I haven't played it this year. Last summer several greens were still recovering from the February 2021 freeze. But it seemed they were actively working on them.

Pecan Lakes in Navasota could be decent, but their greens were terrible by the end of last summer, and I do t think they've done anything to repair them.
Aggie369
AG
Blackhorse North and South
High Meadow Ranch
Ravens Nest
Krondaddy
Briarcrest is pretty solid imo
oldag00
AG
I haven't played there since they re-grassed the greens last summer. Did that turn out well?
Krondaddy
Yeah I'm a student and played all the time, $9 to walk, greens were very good I thought!
E
AG
High Meadow Ranch would be your best bet from a Houston area course.

I'd skip Black Horse, its more expensive and farther from CS. If you'd want to play 36 then it would be a decent option.
jja79
AG
I would rather play HMR twice than both of the Blackhorse courses.
ElCheAg
AG
The Links at West Fork in Conroe is an option. (I haven't been in 3 or so years, but I always thought of it as an above average track.)
giddings_ag_06
AG
Have you heard of TPC Giddings? Definitely a diamond in the rough.
oldag00
AG
Brenham CC is actually a decent course, too. Small greens with a couple of quirky holes and a few really enjoyable holes.
_lefraud_
AG
Whispering Pines if you know people
giddings_ag_06
AG
oldag00 said:

Brenham CC is actually a decent course, too. Small greens with a couple of quirky holes and a few really enjoyable holes.