To get fitted or not?

1,480 Views | 17 Replies | Last: 3 yr ago by Trinity Ag
ph1l
How long do you want to ignore this user?
AG
Quick question for y'all.

I am new to golf (3 months/12 rounds in) and currently taking lessons about once a month. While I am still shooting between 100-110 each round, I have improved quite a bit given I couldn't even get the ball off the ground in my first lesson.

Now that I am playing and talking to my swing coach and friends about golf, I keep getting mixed advice on whether or not to get fitted for clubs. My swing coach and some of my "golf friends" are advocates of getting fit early. Others think I should wait until I get more rounds under my belt and have a better feel for my game. It is worth noting that while I trust my swing coach, he wants to fit me for the clubs for a fee.

Added context: for a cheap price, I bought a set of used Titleist AP1 irons and a Ping 3 wood to get started. I have not yet added a driver to my bag. My swing coach has told me that for irons I need 1/2-1 inch longer clubs and a different lie angle (current lie angle of 4-5, says I need to be closer to 1).

What are your thoughts? I am committed to golf and view money put into golf as well spent. At the same time, I don't want to spend unnecessarily.

Thanks everyone.
khaos288
AG
If you don't want to spend unnecessarily, break 90 and then get fit.

If you can get extensions, grips, and lie adjustments cheap, that's definitely worth it for now.
Ag_07
AG
Honestly I would wait a bit until your swing is pretty consistent and locked in. No use in getting fitted if your swing is still changing.

Maybe talk it over with who you're getting lessons from. If he thinks your swing is pretty locked in and it's just implementing a few tweaks then go for it but if you're still working on getting the muscle memory of a consistent swing down I'd wait.
G Martin 87
AG