Indoor Golf Facility

2,510 Views | 16 Replies | Last: 4 yr ago by dcrewint
dcrewint
How long do you want to ignore this user?
Quick info: I'm a high school golf coach and want to create an indoor golf facility. I'm testing the waters to see if anyone wants or knows of someone that might want to donate to a program. Also, looking for tips in getting this done.

The details:

I've been coaching golf for 5 years, this is my 3rd year at the high school. My program has 10 players(girls), while the boys' coach has maybe a few more. We want to grow the game, but we also want to have an available space to practice especially on bad weather days for our teams to practice in. Since I've been at the high school, the boys' coach and I have tossed around the idea of having an indoor facility built, but it fizzles out when we start talking $. I was speaking to another coach at my annual tournament from a competitive golf program and he told me they had $200k lined up, but it wasn't considered enough for their school district to buy in.

I'm about to dive into conversations with a local "premier" course pro about hosting a fundraiser scramble that might be held 6 months - 1 year from now. To allow for the CV situation to die down and to secure sponsors (where the big money comes from, so I hear). I know that won't even scratch the surface, but can be used to purchase needed equipment.

Questions I have are:

Anyone know how much it would cost to create a stand alone facility such as - Hokies Golf Facility(pictures are for reference). I'd like to have 4-5 hitting bays, not all would need to have a launch monitor. A putting surface with undulations that would allow for 5-10 players at a time. A wedge game turf to chip onto the putting surface as well. Other ideas that aren't a make or break would be a locker room(boys/girls), coaches office.