Grip help

760 Views | 5 Replies | Last: 6 yr ago by Dale Earnhardts Stache
DimeBox17
How long do you want to ignore this user?
AG
I'm not a beginner at the sport as I've played off and on for 6 years. Now that I'm playing more, I'd like to start using an overlapping or interlocking grip. I've tried doing both at the range before but after playing baseball for 12 years I can't get comfortable doing it. Is there a drill or way to get a feel for it or does it just take some time at the range?
Hamburger Dan
Put a training grip on a club - even a cut down club is fine. The training grip has reminders for lining up your hands, aligning your knuckles, and your index finger. It's seems simple, but it's a constant reminder for your hand position. Like you, I played a lot of baseball and used the baseball grip. I forced myself to change to an overlap grip, after that I seemed to make progress faster and at a higher level. Changing your grip takes time and patience. Good luck.
Sooper Jeenyus
AG
Why the desire to change? If your current grip works for you, stay with it. There's hardly a consensus on gripping the club.
DimeBox17
AG
Hard for me to say that a better grip would help me because there are several things I could work on to be better. But I figured it would be a good place to start. I normally just play two man scrambles for fun with friends so I don't know what I would actually score but after playing with various skill levels, I would say I'm a 90 to 100 golfer. Again, I don't get to practice or play much so it may be best to work with my baseball grip.
Thisguy1