Bonfire

4,247 Views | 52 Replies | Last: 6 yr ago by TexasRebel
AustinAggie18
How long do you want to ignore this user?
AG
Contrary to my moniker, my name is David Bayler and I'm a student veteran '18 at Texas A&M. If this isn't the right place then I'll gladly excuse myself. I was in class with Professor Gary Boldt last week on the topic of leadership and we got around to what it would take to bring the bonfire back to the A&M campus. Knowing it is a hot button issue and can be a sore subject he expressed that a great many former students share the sentiments of a great many current students that we should bring the stack back home to the campus. Who here would support this and where would you recommend I start down the sure to be arduous journey of returning the stack to Texas A&M. With all the resources this school has and the influence of it's alumni, I'm sure we could make this happen. Any insight appreciated.
California Ag 90
AG
this would be a fantastic accomplishment.

your challenge is, of course, liability -

1. actual legal liability if a tragedy ever recurred, and

2. 'image' liability - the damage to perception of the university among those who worry about such things if there were another tragedy. the media / public image hit if there were another catastrophe would be brutal.

seems like there may be enough alumni support to raise a fund to cover liability insurance premiums (speculating but I'd contribute).

the second category is tougher. TAMU is, like it or not, a political institution of great importance in the State of Texas and politicians don't take big risks. finding a chancellor or president willing to risk his reputation bringing a 'high risk' activity like bonfire back to campus is the toughest challenge, IMO.

We're from North California, and South Alabam
and little towns all around this land...
vegasaggie
I would book it right now as a no miss opportunity for my 11 year old daughter to see what the Aggie spirit means.
redd38
AG