Real Estate
Sponsored by

Experience with subdividing land?

1,726 Views | 6 Replies | Last: 2 yr ago by Ag_09
jjdavis85
How long do you want to ignore this user?
AG
I have about 36 acres just south of Hallettsville in Lavaca county that I'll be selling. It has about 600 ft of highway 77 frontage and is close enough to town to have some commercial value. We're looking to subdivide the acreage into 2-3 smaller parcels along the highway and then selling the remaining 30 +/- acres as another parcel.

Do I need to go to the county first for their approval? What would I be requesting of them? I'm assuming I'd then need to work with a surveyor to put together a plat? Or do I have those steps inr everse order?

I'm an agent, but obviously not experienced with the subdivision aspect of real estate. Lastly, would it make more sense for me to market the entire 36 acres, but advertise that we'd be willing to subdivide?

Thanks in advance!
plowboy1065
S
Get ready to pay roll back taxes
jdc98
AG
I would reach out to County office and ask about their process and fees. They probably will not provide "recommendation" for surveyor but might give you a couple names of local surveyors familiar with their platting process. Each county has their own rules for minimum Lot size and/or road frontage that you will need to follow for county approval.

Also depending on city/county agreements and distance from city limits you may need to submit to the City for their approval.
Martin Cash
AG
Depends on county subdivision regulations, if they have any, and whether it's in city ETJ.
The heart of the wise inclines to the right, but the heart of the fool to the left. Ecclesiastes 10:2
KayJayKay