Real Estate
Sponsored by

Just elected to condo HOA board, tips?

4,037 Views | 32 Replies | Last: 3 yr ago by busdriver88
bthotugigem05
How long do you want to ignore this user?
AG
I've been a resident at this condoplex for 7 years but finally purchased a condo and moved into it. The board president has been accused of running things like a dictatorship and has been accused of personal vendettas against two (now former, I bought their unit) residents. Three board members left because of these accusations and my dumb idiot self volunteered for a position on the board.

Sooooo what are your tips, those of you who have been involved in running HOAs?
SteveBott
AG
Resign
bthotugigem05
AG
I didn't want to do it, trust me, but my old landlord brought up a good point, that I've sunk a lot of money into this condoplex by buying a place here so I should try and influence it where I can.
Red Pear Realty
Sponsor
AG
When you play the game of thrones you win or you die.
Sponsor Message: We Split Commissions. Full Service Agents in Austin, Bryan-College Station, Dallas-Fort Worth, Houston and San Antonio. Red Pear Realty
BTD
Is condoplex a real word?
Diggity
AG
So is this Del Boca Vista Phase I or Phase II?

Big difference
BQ_90
AG
Don't buy a Cadillac
cab559
AG
bthotugigem05 said:

I didn't want to do it, trust me, but my old landlord brought up a good point, that I've sunk a lot of money into this condoplex by buying a place here so I should try and influence it where I can.

Is your old landlord on the board? If not, he pulled a fast one you to do his dirty work.
CapeAggie89
AG
Get to know you HOA's governing documents. They tell you what you can do. You also need to get familiar with Texas Property Codes as those can override your governing documents.

The only power that the HOA has is what is in the governing documents.
Ol_Ag_02
AG
HOAs are evil. People that enjoy being on a HOA like telling others what they can or can't do with their own property.
bthotugigem05
AG