Real Estate
Sponsored by

Self Storage development

2,171 Views | 11 Replies | Last: 4 yr ago by Harkrider 93
SLF11
How long do you want to ignore this user?
AG
Anybody ever developed self storage units in Texas?

My dad and I are in the infancy (as in, we have a site selected) of a small development of self storage in the San Antonio - New Braunfels area.

I would love to pick anyone's brain who has either developed or owned this type of real estate. We are beginners, but my dad is a do-anything-yourself type guy and i am a commercial real estate broker.

Diggity
AG
Market in general has been pretty saturated as there aren't many barriers to entry. How much competition do you have?
SLF11
AG
2 other self storage facilities within 2 miles.

Of course, they are where the residential development has happened. Our site is on the immediate path for future growth.
mazag08
AG
SLF11 said:

2 other self storage facilities within 2 miles.

Of course, they are where the residential development has happened. Our site is on the immediate path for future growth.

Purely interested here.. What's the cap rate on your project as stabilized?
Mr_mo8268
AG
I've represented a self storage developer in site selection. No expert but a few thoughts below:

From a location stand point, most developers look at a 1-3-5 mile ring study (sometimes larger depending on market). Add up all the rentable SF in those areas. The rule of thumb in a market like Houston is 10 rsf per person in population. Smaller markets like a Temple are closer to 5-7.

The industry is so bifurcated because you have the old Mom and Pops who still own their old places everywhere, Public Storage who will buy anything, quick and with cash and never sell, and one-off developers who can raise enough friends/family money to do a deal. Institutional equity has started investing in this use type, but still scratching the surface.