Real Estate
Sponsored by

Bedroom Windows (Code)

1,456 Views | 8 Replies | Last: 4 yr ago by ratfacemcdougal
TX1775
How long do you want to ignore this user?
AG
Hey all - we're building a new home and I noticed that in one of the bedrooms, the windows are not designed to open. The bedroom is on a first floor and facing the front of the house. Seems like a silly question, but are bedroom windows required to be operable by code?

TIA
MAS444
AG
Pretty sure yes. They also have to be a minimum height from floor. I believe it's for egress in the event of a fire. But I'm no expert...
rondis23
AG
They dont have to be operable, or open...you can leave it as is. The only thing is that room will now be considered "an office" or "a studio" for appraisal or resale purposes, I think you would rather have it be a functional "bedroom" though.

We had this issue and didn't realize until we were already building. Luckily we noticed it and were able to put a window that met egress code on an opposite wall.
Absolute
AG
Have to open for a bedroom. Only need one that opens, so could leave the front one as is and add a side one as said above.
AggieStan
Houston. When I build several years ago the code was windows had to open
ratfacemcdougal
There has to be a secondary means of egress direct to outside. It could be a door or a window. If it looks like a bedroom and smells like a bedroom....a room with a built in closet, possible direct access to a bathroom, a size generally big enough to be considered a sleeping area, then usually it will be considered a bedroom for egress means no matter what you call it. Just because you call it a study or an office, does not mean it cannot be considered a bedroom.
TX1775
AG